View Full Version : my design stolen AGAIN this time also my photos
jgrayson
10-04-2006, 07:32 PM
not only was my pixelpost design stolen again but this time they have also stolen some of my photos. you can see the jerk here:
http://jlog.dissonant.info/index.php
i understand that it's easy to steal a design and once something is online it's for the most part up for grabs..... but damn, if you are going to steal my design then DO NOT steal my photographs.
i'm sorry for the rant and i know this topic was already beat to death but i am really pissed off.
aaaarrrrrrggggggggg...........
Connie
10-05-2006, 06:03 AM
did you contact that guy?
I think it would be good if you watermark your images... that would make obvious that they are stolen from another site..
my suggestion:
email this guy
post this email contacts here
post this guys email adress here
and we will start an action: "mass"-mailing from the forum (we will ask our users to mail this guy as well....)
Vernon.Trent
10-05-2006, 07:42 AM
the whole site is full of "suffocate.us" watermarks. this guy don't care about that. :-/
Connie
10-05-2006, 09:28 AM
I tried to add a comment there at his page with the following content:
Why do you steal the template design without asking?
The template belongs to the domain http://suffocate.us/ and is not free
It is great to see that people steal design plus photos from other people and then add a copyright notice at their page!
This is hypocrite, not honest
you should excuse yourself by the author.
We give Pixelpost to the world for free. but this does not mean that any content of users is free at all
we expect from you that you come to the forum forum.pixelpost.org and excuse there!
but this guy's comment system is broken... so you cannot comment at all
but here is his email-adress:
info@dissonant.info
I sent him that by mail
jgrayson
10-05-2006, 04:32 PM
did you contact that guy?
I think it would be good if you watermark your images... that would make obvious that they are stolen from another site..
i emailed him but haven't heard back.
jgrayson
10-05-2006, 04:34 PM
did you contact that guy?
I think it would be good if you watermark your images... that would make obvious that they are stolen from another site..
my suggestion:
email this guy
post this email contacts here
post this guys email adress here
and we will start an action: "mass"-mailing from the forum (we will ask our users to mail this guy as well....)
sounds good to me :)
i saw your comment you left on his site, i appreciate it...
thanks
Hey John,
sorry to hear this. When you make cool things it is tempting for some people to steal from you. This guy will not be able to make any friends in the community. I have left him a comment.
How did you actually find out about it?
jgrayson
10-06-2006, 04:35 PM
Hey John,
sorry to hear this. When you make cool things it is tempting for some people to steal from you. This guy will not be able to make any friends in the community. I have left him a comment.
How did you actually find out about it?
because i have full links in my CSS (when i was testing out my design it was just easier to have full links and haven't gotten around to changing it, good thing) and i prevent hotlinking from my site. this person either never bothered to look at the code or doesn't understand the code. when the person puts that code on their site it's calling for files on my site which are blocked, all i have to do is look at my site statistics to see what files were blocked or "failed". i also get tons of myspace kiddies who try to put my photos on their sites, i guess they think bandwidth is free (along with the use of the image)
edward
10-07-2006, 04:28 AM
Why did he even bother to change the top graphics and background? Maybe he stole those somewhere else... Which I think he might have done because everything is in a different language except the logo... Just does not add up.
Perhaps there is a need for people to go into an "AA" type of HTML theft.
Hello, my name is Joe and I steal Javascript.
There I said it! And I feel much better for doing so... :)
edward
10-07-2006, 04:34 AM
I went ahead and left a nasty message also. He doesn't even bother to delete them:)
blinking8s
10-07-2006, 04:26 PM
lame...
apelki
10-08-2006, 01:55 PM
john,
just emailed you over this, you may be able to do what I do.
If anyone else can get hold of my templates, please PM me or email me on how you did it.
I know it stops many from getting them, as I am notified, it also may not stop everyone, especially the really clever ones. But it works.
I came across this post as I am revising mine atm, and since I broke my archive page and have not been bothered in fixing, Im just gonna redesign it.
Paul
RAitch
10-08-2006, 03:38 PM
John, it's not me!! HONEST!
That sucks... but at least you are inspiring people to steal your stuff.
Did he put your actual photograph images on there... or your design images? I see the comment background is still there (with your logo).
Apelki... sb is "bagged and tagged" but you can get into the other templates.
apelki
10-08-2006, 04:34 PM
yeah I know, I only protected sb, not worth it for the others. hehe.
greentraveler
10-09-2006, 01:31 AM
Strongly-worded comment dropped.
RAitch
10-09-2006, 01:40 AM
yeah I know, I only protected sb, not worth it for the others. hehe.
Is that something that you did at the provider... or something you did with security htaccess files or something?
Dennis
10-09-2006, 01:04 PM
I think it's lame
I just added a htaccess file which seems to work, does anybody see this picture?
http://foto.schonhose.nl/thumbnails/thumb_20060722162307_upload.jpg
If not, it's working.
here is the .htaccess from the root of the pixelpost install
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(.+\.)?domain\.com/ [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^$
RewriteRule .*\.(jpe?g|gif|bmp|png)$ /nopicture.jpg [L]
Be sure to replace domain with your domain. If you would like to use pictures on certain sites then copy this line
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(.+\.)?domain\.com/ [NC]
and fill in the domain of the site.
blinking8s
10-09-2006, 01:34 PM
i used to swap it out with some dirty photos, so when someone hotlinked something...porn came up...
but im evil like that
i dont do it anymore, because i post on a lot of forums and stuff and dont want any bad things to happen
Dennis
10-09-2006, 01:38 PM
Blinking8s: did you see the pic or not?
I did that once to. I replaced it with the pancake bunny :D
blinking8s
10-09-2006, 02:11 PM
no, i see nothing...
Dennis
10-09-2006, 03:05 PM
no, i see nothing...
Ok great. I see the picture but it's in my browsers cache.
jgrayson
10-09-2006, 03:28 PM
Did he put your actual photograph images on there... or your design images? I see the comment background is still there (with your logo).
hey rich,
yes, both the dog photo and the one with the snow flakes are BOTH MY PHOTOS.
mine:
http://suffocate.us/index.php?showimage=129
and mine:
http://suffocate.us/index.php?showimage=9
he's not hotlinking to them (i prevent hotlinking in my htaccess), he actually took my photos and put them on his server.
Dennis
10-09-2006, 05:27 PM
http://forum.pixelpost.org/showpost.php?p=36252&postcount=18
Here is another HTACCESS Solution.
Dennis
10-10-2006, 09:51 AM
Hmm it seems the page is offline atm.
jgrayson
10-10-2006, 04:57 PM
Hmm it seems the page is offline atm.
it's about time. thanks for the heads up.
apelki
10-10-2006, 06:24 PM
Is that something that you did at the provider... or something you did with security htaccess files or something?
Yep,
I used a htaccess file in the relevant template folder with
<Files image_template.html>
order deny,allow
deny from all
allow from 111.111.111.111
</Files>
for each file you want to protect, just alter the IP address to IP of your server, this will only allow the webserver to access the file protected directly.
Just remmeber to protect the .htaccess file also.
I then used a php custom error page with scripts in for various things.
Paul
kristarella
10-13-2006, 07:31 AM
As great as the internet is for communication and learning things it's also great for completely disregarding other people in a way that would very rarely be done to their face.
The site is offline... I wanted to see how they'd copied it. God that they took notice of the comments and emails though.
How do you find these people stealing your stuff?
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.