View Full Version : i keep getting emails from this site
dankster
06-19-2007, 03:04 PM
Dear dankster,
Your account on Pixelpost Forum has been locked because someone has tried to log into the account with the wrong password more than 5 times. You will be able to attempt to log in again in another 15 minutes.
The person trying to log into your account had the following IP address: 70.86.138.114
Don't forget that the password is case sensitive. Forgotten your password? Use the link below:
http://forum.pixelpost.org/login.php?do=lostpw
All the best,
Pixelpost Forum
can someone get to the bottom of this?
jaywilliams
06-19-2007, 03:08 PM
Apparently, someone, in IP Dallas, TX. (70.86.138.114) Is trying to figure out your password. And the forum script that we use is kind enough to let you know that someone is trying to figure out your password.
So make sure you have a good long password. ;-)
dhdesign
06-19-2007, 03:40 PM
I've gotten 3 of those emails this morning, with the same IP number listed in mine. Maybe someone is targeting this forum, and trying to hack into any user accounts that they can?
dasjan
06-19-2007, 03:50 PM
I got the same message, 4 times already. Seems as if someone is trying to get into out account using a bruteforce attack. Shouldn't be a problem if you have a good password, it's just annoying. But maybe the admins could just block that IP ( 70.86.138.114 ) entirely from accessing the site.
Since all our usernames start with the letter "d" it might be just these users are getting attacked.
dakwegmo
06-19-2007, 04:32 PM
If it gets seriously annoying, you may be able to stop the emails by changing the email preferences in your profile.
FuselTog
06-19-2007, 04:37 PM
I just got one of those emails a few minutes ago with the same ip address.
Dkozikowski
06-19-2007, 05:18 PM
I caught the IP address with the forum software a few minutes ago and this is all I am able to give you:
70.86.138.114
72.8a.5646.static.theplanet.com
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0b; Windows NT 5.0; .NET CLR 1.0.2914)
dhdesign
06-19-2007, 05:43 PM
I just got another notice at 1:12 pm. Whoever this is, they are persistant in their attempts.
I agree with dasjan - block that IP number at least in the forum CP, and definitely at the server level. That way they can't access the site at all, and will get a 403 error (forbidden).
jaywilliams
06-19-2007, 07:51 PM
Ok, I've banned the IP address (70.86.138.114) from the Pixelpost.org server. Let me know if you all get any more e-mails.
blinking8s
06-19-2007, 09:52 PM
The same IP hitup my account on 2 other vbulletin forums...sorry for the toubles. The Planet hosting datacenter probably had a hacked server or something.
The IP has been blocked, as jay said...and Eleven2 is keeping a watch out for anything else as several other IP's started to hit us up during that time
felixxx
06-20-2007, 08:33 AM
As for me, I only got that notification once.
Good to know, though, that PP is clever enough to time out!
Thanks for your work, guys.
I'll have a server backup and password change, anyway ;-)
Regards,
FW
***
felixwilleke.com (http://www.felixwilleke.com)
dhdesign
06-20-2007, 09:32 PM
I haven't gotten any more emails like this. Thanks for blocking that IP number!
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.